Christmas Eve Music 2014

I know many churches offer Christmas Eve services that have great music within the services. I’ll be playing for such a service at Church of the Mediator in Micanopy, FL at 7:00pm.

BUT….

MicanopyChurch

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prior to the service, starting at 6:30pm will be a half-hour of Christmas music. Currently scheduled will be a vocalist singing mostly standard Christmas vocal repertoire, accompanied by me on piano. This will be interspersed with solo piano by me. I’ll be playing at least one piece from my Christmas album “A New Old Christmas” available on iTunes and GooglePlay. Most of what I’ll be playing will be contemporary settings of familiar Christmas hymns. We may also have some other musicians involved.

We’ve done this at least once before at the church and it was very popular and well received. Unfortunately last year (2013) our vocalist came down with a bad cold and it meant I was left to play the entire half-hour. That’s why I said “currently scheduled” above. You never know who might get sick this year. So far everyone seems to be in excellent health. I don’t anticipate any cancellations, but you never know..

During the service many traditional hymns will be sung. The church’s choir will be singing an arrangement of the piece “Mary Did You Know?”

The church is located at 401 North Cholokka Blvd in Micanopy. That’s on the main road in Micanopy (you can’t miss it) right across from the Herlong Mansion and two blocks south of the Town Hall & Fire station. Please come and say hi. Oh, a nice spread of food after the service is always provided.

About jamesgilbertmusic

JamesGilbertMusic is a web based publisher of sheet music and mp3 files. The founder, James Gilbert, is a pianist, organist composer/arranger and piano teacher. He offers piano lessons in Micanopy.
This entry was posted in Church Music, Other and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.